RN to BSN Programs

Guides

How Long Does an RN to BSN Take?

What Determines Your RN to BSN Completion Time

Length is the first thing this field advertises and close to the last thing it documents. Across the 290 ranked completion programs on this site, 16 state a fastest completion time on their own page. The other 274 say nothing about duration at all.

That is not schools being evasive, and it is worth saying so before the rest of this page, because the obvious reading is the wrong one. A completion track admits nurses whose transcripts have almost nothing in common — different associate programs, different general education, different years since the last course was graded. A single number printed in a catalog would be wrong for most of the people reading it. The programs that publish one have decided the marketing value outweighs the imprecision. The programs that do not have made a defensible call.

So the useful version of this page is not a national average, which would be an average of 16 marketing figures and nothing else. It is the four variables that actually set your timeline — transfer credit, general education, course load and start dates — and the questions that get each of them answered before you enroll rather than after. Three of the four are settled by your own transcript, which means most of this is knowable now.

Published RN to BSN Completion Timelines

Fastest completion time as stated by each school on its own program page, grouped by figure. Ranked programs only.

Published fastest-completion figures among the 290 ranked RN-to-BSN completion programs, grouped by the number of months stated. Each figure is the school's own best case, not a measured completion time.
Published figure Ranked programs stating it Roughly
10 months 2 Under a year
12 months 7 One to one and a half years
14 months 2 One to one and a half years
16 months 2 One to one and a half years
18 months 1 One to one and a half years
33 months 2 Between two and three years

The shape of that table is the argument. 14 of the 16 figures are eighteen months or less, which is the band the advertising works in. But only 2 come in under twelve months, and 2 of them are two years or longer. Widen the question to every confirmed completion track on this site rather than only the ranked ones and the picture holds: 21 published figures in total, of which 3 are under a year.

Put plainly, the published record contains a handful of sub-year claims and a cluster nearly three years long, for the same credential, from schools describing the same kind of student. Whatever "fast" means in this field, it is not a property the schools agree on.

Two cautions before anyone treats the table as a ranking of speed. First, these are figures schools chose to publish, and choosing to publish is a marketing decision rather than a measured outcome — the 16 programs above sit anywhere from 44th to 287th of 290 in our scoring, so the ones advertising a length are not a better or worse group than the ones that do not.

Second, 6 of the 16 figures come from a page whose title or address names the completion track directly. The other 10 come from a page where the track is described inside a broader nursing page, and a figure taken from one of those may describe the school's nursing offering more generally rather than the RN-to-BSN track specifically. Confirm any figure you plan to act on with the program itself. How the evidence is tiered is on the methodology page.

Time to completion. Stated for 171 of the 362 programs on this site (47%). Where a school publishes a completion time it is shown on the program, but there is not enough coverage to rank on it.

What an Advertised 10-Month RN to BSN Timeline Includes

Every figure in the table above is a floor, and the conditions that produce it are specific enough to state exactly. A school's fastest completion time describes a student who carries a full course load every term without a break, whose general education requirement is already satisfied, and whose associate transcript transferred at the maximum the program allows. It usually also assumes no term is skipped and nothing is repeated.

None of that is dishonest. It is a real number for a real student. It is simply a different student from the one reading this page, and the gap between the two is not a small correction — it is the whole distance between a marketing figure and a plan. A nurse taking one course a term is on a schedule several times longer than a nurse taking a full load, and no adjustment to the advertised figure gets you from one to the other. You have to calculate your own.

The badge you will see on program listings across this site reads "as few as" for that reason. Where a school states a figure, we show it on the ranking, on the state pages and on the online program list, worded so it cannot be mistaken for a duration we measured. We did not measure it. The school published it, and it means what the school's own admissions office says it means.

One useful test when a recruiter quotes you a length: ask what course load that figure assumes and how many credits the student in question brought in. If the answer is a full load and a maximum transfer, you have learned the figure is a ceiling on speed. If the answer is vague, you have learned something else.

The Biggest Variable Is How Much of Your ADN Counts

This is the one that moves a timeline more than anything else, and it is settled before your first term rather than during it. Two nurses admitted to the same program in the same month can be on schedules a year apart, entirely because of what happened at a credit evaluation neither of them watched.

Three separate rules decide it, and they are worth asking about separately because programs answer them separately:

  • What the program accepts from your associate degree. Not whether it accepts transfer credit in general, which every completion program does, but how much of your specific transcript it will apply to this degree.
  • How much you must complete at the institution itself. Schools set a minimum you have to earn there regardless of what you bring, and that minimum, not your transcript, is the real floor on your timeline. A program that accepts a great deal of credit but requires a substantial residency is not the short program it appears to be.
  • Whether anything on your transcript has expired. Some institutions apply a recency rule to particular coursework. If you were licensed some years ago, this is the rule most likely to add a term you did not expect.

The question that gets all three answered in one go is a credit evaluation against your actual transcript, in writing, before you accept a place. Programs do these routinely. A recruiter's estimate over the phone is not one, and the difference between the two is the difference between a plan and a hope.

Ask for the evaluation to come back as a term count rather than a credit count. Credits are the school's unit; terms are yours, because a term is the thing you have to survive while working.

General Education Is the Requirement That Quietly Adds a Year

A bachelor's degree is not only nursing coursework, and this is where timelines slip for nurses who assumed the clinical content was the long pole. Your associate program covered some of the general education a bachelor's requires. Whether it covered all of it depends on which associate program you attended and what that institution required at the time.

The nurses most exposed to this are the ones who came through a hospital diploma program, and the ones whose associate degree was built tightly around the clinical sequence with a minimum of everything else. Neither is a deficiency in the preparation — a diploma-prepared nurse is not a less capable nurse — but both can arrive at a completion program with outstanding requirements in areas that have nothing to do with nursing, and each one is a course that occupies a slot in a term.

What makes this worth checking early is that it is the gap you have the most control over. General education requirements can often be met somewhere other than the program itself — a community college, or in some cases an examination — and clearing them beforehand takes whole courses out of the terms you will be studying around your shifts. That is a shorter degree without a faster pace, which is the only kind of shortcut in this decision that does not cost you something else.

Ask the admissions office for the full list of outstanding general education requirements, and ask separately whether the program will accept them from another institution once you are enrolled. Those are two different permissions, and assuming the second one follows from the first is a common and expensive mistake.

How Many Courses You Can Carry on Three Twelve-Hour Shifts

Here is the arithmetic nobody does for you, and it is short enough to do at a kitchen table. Take the number of courses the program requires you to complete there, after your transfer credit is applied. Divide it by the number of courses you can realistically carry in a term. Multiply by the length of a term. That is your answer, and it is a better one than any figure in the table above because every input is yours.

The middle term is the one people get wrong, and they get it wrong in the same direction. A course load that is manageable in a quiet month is not the load you can hold across a full year of a working roster, and the term where it breaks is usually the one with something else in it — a stretch of overtime, a sick child, a unit short-staffed for six weeks. Plan the pace you can hold on a bad month rather than a good one. Finishing a term late costs more time than taking one course fewer would have.

Underneath the pace sits the structural question, and it is the one this audience already knows to ask. Whether a program is online is not it. Whether the coursework is asynchronous is, because a session that meets at a fixed hour on a fixed day is unattendable when that day is a shift. Among ranked programs, 33 state on their own page that coursework is asynchronous and 122 state that the program is fully online. Read both as floors: a program that has not stated a delivery mode has not stated one, and plenty deliver asynchronously without putting it in the text we hold. The online program list shows what each school states.

Two more questions decide whether your pace survives contact with a real year. Ask whether a term can be skipped without reapplying — if the answer is no, one bad month costs you an admission cycle rather than a term. And ask whether the program requires precepted clinical hours you arrange yourself. Many completion tracks require no traditional bedside clinicals and substitute a community or workplace project; some do not. Arranging precepted hours around a roster is harder than any course in the curriculum, and it belongs in your timeline before you apply rather than in your calendar afterwards.

Start Dates Decide How Much of the Delay Is Waiting

The last variable has nothing to do with how fast you study. A program running several entry points a year lets you begin within weeks of deciding. A program with one annual intake can leave you waiting most of a year before the clock starts, and that wait counts against your life even though it appears in nobody's published figure.

The same structure matters again in the middle of the degree. Frequent, short terms let you sit one out and rejoin quickly when a month goes badly. Long terms with a single annual entry point make the same interruption expensive, because there is nowhere to rejoin until next year. If your working life is unpredictable — and for most nurses reading this it is — the number of entry points a year is worth more than a shorter advertised length.

Three questions cover it. How many start dates a year does the program run? How long is a term? And if I need to sit one out, what happens to my place? Ask all three of the admissions office, and ask the third one even if you cannot imagine needing it.

Getting a Real Number out of a Program

Everything above collapses into one short list. Take it to two shortlisted programs and you will have a timeline that is yours rather than a figure from a landing page.

  1. Request a credit evaluation against your transcript, in writing. Ask for the result as a term count, not a credit count.
  2. Ask what must be completed at the institution regardless of transfer. This is the floor under every other answer.
  3. Ask for the outstanding general education list, and whether those requirements can be met elsewhere once you are enrolled.
  4. Ask whether any session meets at a fixed time, and whether the course load per term is capped.
  5. Ask how many start dates a year there are, how long a term runs, and what happens if you skip one.

A program that answers all five plainly has told you how long it will take you, which is the only version of this question that was ever answerable. A program that answers with the advertised figure has answered a different question, about a different student.

One thing worth holding onto while you do this: an associate degree is not a gap to be closed as fast as possible. Whether this degree is worth doing at all is a separate question from how quickly it can be done, and the answer to it turns on price and on what you want the credential to open — the case for and against the degree is set out on its own page. Finishing in the fewest possible months is not the goal unless something specific makes it the goal.

When you are ready to compare real programs, the state rankings cover the 24 states with enough confirmed completion programs to publish a list, drawn from the 362 programs we could verify run an RN-to-BSN track for already-licensed nurses. A further 72 confirmed programs appear on their state page below the ranking, because a federal field the score needs is empty — a gap in the data rather than a mark against the school.

Questions About RN to BSN Timelines

How long does an RN to BSN take if I am working full time?
Can I finish an RN to BSN in under a year?
Why does the program page not say how long it takes?
How many courses can I take at a time on three twelve-hour shifts?

More RN to BSN Planning Guides

  • Is an RN to BSN worth it? — what the degree costs, and why no federal file says what it pays.
  • CCNE vs ACEN — the check that protects the degree once you have spent the time on it.
  • Online RN to BSN programs — which programs state asynchronous delivery, the attribute that sets your pace.
  • How we rank — why duration is carried as a disclosed attribute rather than scored.